Fort Lauderdale Assault Attorney
We are not afraid to fight for those who have been charged with assault
Assault may be one of the most misunderstood of all charges, because it is not necessarily about actual violence, but about the threat of violence and the ability to carry out that violence. It is often wrapped up with raw emotions and born of heated arguments, but it may also be cold and calculated. This is what you should know: Assault is considered a violent crime. The police take it seriously. The courts take it seriously. And you should take it seriously. At Kevin J. Kulik, P.A. in Fort Lauderdale, we understand the consequences of a conviction for assault. Attorney Kevin Kulik is a former assistant state attorney who has prosecuted offenders and now, in his practice of criminal defense, successfully represents hundreds of clients in Broward County and throughout South Florida. As your Fort Lauderdale assault attorney, we make sure that you understand the charges against you and work with you to develop a number of strategies to defend you effectively against any and all charges.
Was it simple assault or aggravated assault?
Under Florida law, a simple assault is generally a second-degree misdemeanor punishable by up to 60 days in jail or six months’ probation in addition to a $500 fine. Simple assault is defined as an unlawful and intentional threat directed at a person that causes a legitimate fear of being harmed.
Aggravated assault occurs when the unlawful and intentional threat is coupled with the ability to commit an act of violence. For example, an assailant armed or intending to commit a felony is charged with aggravated assault. Assault with a weapon, or aggravated assault, is considered a third-degree felony and carries penalties of up to five years in a penitentiary, a fine of $5,000, or both.
Were you charged with domestic assault or sexual assault?
Domestic assault occurs when the threat is made against a spouse or partner or any family member. With the heightened awareness of domestic violence over the past several decades, the state legislature, the police, religious groups and other entities have increased efforts toward ensuring swift and sure action against abusers.
Sexual assault is also viewed harshly by the courts. According to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Office on Women’s Health, sexual assault can be “verbal, visual, or anything that forces a person to join in unwanted sexual contact or attention.” In the state of Florida, sexual assault is also called rape. At the minimum, a sexual assault conviction is a second-degree felony that includes penalties of up to 15 years imprisonment and a fine of up to $10,000. Moreover, you are required to register with the Florida Sexual Offender System. Certain sexual assault charges are considered life felony crimes, punishable by life imprisonment and fines of as much as $15,000.
What is assault and battery?
Assault is the threat. Battery is the contact. In other words, if you make a fist and raise it in front of somebody’s face, you have committed assault. If you throw the punch, you have also committed battery. As described by Florida statutes:
“The offense of battery occurs when a person: 1. Actually and intentionally touches or strikes another person against the will of the other; or 2. Intentionally causes bodily harm to another person.”
In most cases, if you are charged with battery, you are also charged with assault.
Contact our Fort Lauderdale assault attorneys to schedule a free and confidential consultation
Get the legal counsel and representation you need to protect your rights. Call Fort Lauderdale assault defense attorney, Kevin J. Kulik, P.A. at 954-761-9411 or contact us online to set up a time to talk. All initial consultations are free of charge. We can meet you at our conveniently located office on SW Third Avenue in Fort Lauderdale. If you are unable to travel, we can also arrange to meet you at your home or at the prison.