Fort Lauderdale Vehicular Manslaughter Attorney
When does a car become a weapon?
Not every fatal car accident is considered a case of vehicular manslaughter, but if it involved a DUI, excessive speeding, distracted driving — including texting while driving — or other forms of recklessness, you are considered culpably negligent. Florida aggressively prosecutes those charged with vehicular manslaughter. To protect your rights, it is in your best interest to engage an experienced vehicular manslaughter attorney. At Kevin J. Kulik, P.A. in Fort Lauderdale, we provide equally aggressive defense to clients throughout Broward County and across South Florida who are at risk of losing their driving privileges and their freedom if convicted of this crime.
We know that juries feel sorry for the families of those who lost their lives, and we also know how to convince them that any verdict should be based on facts, not sympathy. As criminal defense attorneys, we have the know-how and the skills to help obtain favorable results for our clients. We can discuss your options and how we can help you when you contact us to schedule a free consultation. Contact our Fort Lauderdale vehicular manslaughter attorneys today.
The difference between a fatal accident and vehicular manslaughter
To be charged with vehicular manslaughter — also called vehicular homicide — the state must prove that you killed a human being or a viable fetus through injury to the mother “caused by the operation of a motor vehicle by another in a reckless manner likely to cause the death of, or great bodily harm to, another.”
In other words, it may have been an accident, but it wasn’t caused by a tire blowout or bad weather — somebody was killed because of a driver’s negligence or reckless behavior.
Like most other manslaughter charges, vehicular manslaughter is considered a second-degree felony punishable by up to 15 years in prison, a $10,000 fine or both.
When does vehicular homicide become a first-degree felony?
If vehicular homicide involves drunk driving, it may become DUI manslaughter, which is a much more serious charge. If you are also guilty of leaving the scene of the accident and failed to render aid, you are facing a greater charge and more severe penalties.
Penalties for a first-degree felony for DUI manslaughter or leaving the scene after vehicular homicide include up to 30 years in a Florida State Prison, a $10,000 fine and permanent license revocation.
You have legal options when it comes to Fort Lauderdale vehicular manslaughter
To learn more about protecting your rights in the face of vehicular manslaughter or vehicular homicide charges, please contact us online or call us at 954-761-9411. We offer a free and confidential consultation during which we can discuss your situation and talk about how we can help.